Magical Moments

When Nature waves her magic wand
feathered families bathe and bond
in our sunlit garden pond
this morning ...

For minutes on end the pond was the most popular venue in this corner of South Devon. In and around the pond at the same time I spotted four bluetits, a family of four blackbirds (both parents feeding their enormous offspring before and after the youngsters bathed, two great tits and a couple of dunnocks. Oh, and they were coming and going at such a rate that it was only when I looked at my photos that I saw a goldfinch had come along, too.

I might have chosen just one image, but the mass of birds in one spot seems better reflected by my collage.
Top left: a bluetit after its bath
Top right: blackbird feeds one of the young
Centre: Meet Stumpy, the one-legged dunnock
Bottom left: a baby dunnock in shock at discovering the ground (I think!) soon fluttering off again on its new wings
Bottom right: the goldfinch that was too fast for the human eye

I love, love, love watching the birds in and around the pond. So lucky to see them. And we're now enjoying Day 3 of warm sunshine and little wind. Glorious! Worth the wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.