Cabaret Night :-)

Second day of the RBL Riders National Rally, Waterbeach.
Lots of activity today, Raffle drawn for lots of prizes, raffle of a 'Wheelbarrow of Alcohol' (it was exactly what it sounds like!), Mr Whippy ice cream van, 
School Sports Day with a race of - believe it or not - Three Legged Race, Egg & Spoon Race and Obstacle Race, all in one. Couples did all three races in one go, tied together, both holding the spoon with an egg in it, and both going through and over the obstacles! 
Tug of war, see extra, where we 'Gloucester Gladiators' were knocked out in the first round!
Entertainment was The Candy Girls doing an afternoon of 1940's, swing, wartime songs, very, very, good. The blip for today is the Candy Girls with Dean Martin who also rose from the grave to put in an appearance. Thanks goodness he didn't sing, the audience would have found that death had cause a serious deterioration of his vocal chords!! (although I was prepared with the words of 'That's Amore' in my pocket just in case).
The Candy Girls came back on early evening with an hour of Motown songs.
The Glam Rock Band Lipstick Torpedo came on at 2100 for a couple of hours but I'm afraid I was far too tired and ducked out at 2200 to go to bed.

Friday night I had a terrible nights sleep, the grounds is lumpy and bumpy and the tent was rocked around by the wind so the material slapped the top of my head and down my side.
On Saturday I had the luck to find a lady selling second hand clothing etc. for the Poppy Appeal and I bought a camp bed for £3.00, but I gave her £5.00 as it was not only a bargain but it all goes to the Poppy Appeal. I had a MUCH better sleep Saturday night, as well as can be expected when you are camping anyway and a lot better than Friday night.
I also found putting it in the middle and using my big bag to jam the back of the tent worked a treat. Another extra!
The biggest problem was the cramp when trying to get dressed in such a tiny space!

I have to give it to the 'Eastern Bloc' (you have to be aware of the Cold War to get that), they put a huge amount of work into this weekend, every single person had the time of their lives and we raised over £2,000 for the Poppy Appeal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.