misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Health Food Prep: Gin Raisins

Although this Sunday we could be celebrating with Persey the Twink by singing "Give us this day our daily vole", I thought yet another dead vole blip could only interest the cats. He brought a warm freshly, eternally sleeping vole into the bathroom where I had just stepped out of the shower. He laid the offering at my wet feet on the bathmat. I guess he was waiting for some praise.
It went outside to join with its other buried friends. Persey still wanders around the house looking for his new toy. Confession: It is my fault. I accidentally left the garage door open after morning gardening and he took his chance to jump through the cat flap. I have been religiously keeping all doors closed until today.
So much for religious practice today.

The blip is of a "traditional" healing method for arthritis relief. I took a jar, half filled with dried, golden raisins and covered them over with gin. It is now to sit for two weeks, with more gin poured in as needed while the raisins drink up their gin.
Then after the waiting period,  daily you use one teaspoon of raisins in your cereal or salad or...
This is supposed to alleviate arthritis or joint pain. As the folklore has never been scientifically tested, here is some modern thought about this combination. The text from a healing book says, "The benefits may be related to the healing properties of the juniper (an anti-inflammatory detox herb)**  in gin, the anti-oxidants in grapes, or the anti-inflammatory effects of sulfur used to preserves the golden grapes... Or polysaccharides in grapes..."
Well, whatever it is, people report relief from arthritis and joint pain and improved mobility within a few weeks.
I notice that overnight the grapes have drunk up all the gin (London made and the cheapest I could find) and I will have to return to the wine and liquor store for more to keep topping it up.
No, it is not what you are thinking... all of the gin goes into the raisin jar. I do not care for the taste of gin. Now, if it used whisky or even white wine, I would have to buy larger bottles.
As a "scientific experiment" I shall keep you informed of any joint & mobility improvements even though I am starting yoga which also improves the joints.
Give it a try and we can start a Gin-Raisin Club here.
** Who knew that gin can help with arthritis??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.