Hereford Cathedral

Today we went across to Hereford to take out J's little granddaughter, aged 4. We collected her from playschool and got acquainted over coffee (baby choco something for her) and brownies. A real sweetie - and who knew My Little Pony sticker book could be such fun! J took her off to the playground and I went to the cathedral, first stop Mappa Mundi which I had to myself - an elederly chap explaining exactly what was going on. All very complicated - a Medieval eye's vie wof the world - and what an incredible pice, dating fromt he 1300s. Then I had to wait for the Mother's Union Service to finish before I could get in the catheral proper. It went on for ages and ended with a rousing rendition of the national Anthem. Mother's Union member, I can report, are a very distinct type - sensible shoes, flamboyant hats, large bosoms and a no nonsense approach.
One little side chapel had some new stained glass - rather beautiful I thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.