Totally Airborne

I went over to East Leake first thing to 'fess up' about the dud photos from the previous evening.

Hayley was understanding - at least on the surface. Then Basil and I took a turn around the park. On the way back, who should I encounter but my brother. It must be ten years since I've last seen him. He gave a little smile. I'd like to say it was friendly but it seemed more like a smirk when he saw me with the dog. Neither of us seem to have lost any weight. He uses a walking stick rather pretentiously. I wonder if he's got arthritis.

We nodded and walked on.

Then it was time to pack and get ready for this year's Gothla, my last as a member of the organising team. I can't say that I've felt anything very much about that. No overwhelming emotions at all. Just a job of work to do, but as soon as I got to the Y Theatre in Leicester, it was wonderful to see friends and colleagues from over the years.

Len had had to drop me off the other side of roadworks in Granby Street that barred access to the Mercure Hotel. I'd made it in time to sell a few programmes.

I used my 85mm lens this year for photographing Showcase, at an aperture of 1.8, which was really more bravado than sense. As might be expected, less than half of the resulting photos are reasonably useful. I think I got better results overall using my 70-200mm lens at 2.8.

I did capture Morgana in mid-air during her Sioux inspired dance at a shutter speed of 1/640.

Actually, it doesn't really count as a photo because you can't see her face, but I was pleased it came out.

Did I say it was my birthday today?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.