Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

MCDLXI

Thank you everyone for your wonderful comments, stars, and hearts on my 1460th blip.  

I went back into Washington, DC because the clouds were stunning when I got up and expected a spectacular sunrise.  As luck has it, that never happened.  However, the dawn sky was a wonderful bluish purple so I didn't walk away empty handed.  

After the sun came up, I went to a nearby park, sat on a park bench and handed out some peanut treats to the squirrels.  Within 2 minutes, I had eight squirrels and three unusually friendly blue jays waiting for handouts.  One squirrel in particular took a liking to me and actually jumped up on the bench and sat in my lap.  As much as I love squirrels, that was just a little too close for comfort.  I dropped a treat for him and he sat on my leg and ate it.  A couple of minutes later, he came up the back of the park bench and was trying to climb on my shoulders.  I held the camera up, pointed it behind me, and was able to get a shot of him.  Right after that, I stood up, and he sat on my camera waiting for more food. See todays extra photos which also includes a macro shot of a blue jay that was sitting about 18" from the end of my lens.  

Thanks and hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.