Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Finally Home

I went to my aunts house this morning to sort through bills and papers to make sure that I have critical documents at home.  To my dismay, I discovered that she has not thrown away any mail in 28 years (some mail back to 1972!).  That would be OK if it was sorted but new stuff is mixed in with the old and papers that belong in one envelope are stuffed in another.  That means I have to go through every envelope to make sure nothing is missed... I packed up my SUV with boxes and boxes of papers and will go through them when time permits.  

I stopped by the hospital mid-morning and helped my Aunt eat lunch and to talk to her about what is going to happen next.  She is very weak, cannot stand yet and barely can hold a cup or a fork.  So she will be going to a physical rehabilitation facility near her home where she will stay until she can manage on her own.  If/when she can fend for herself, she will be able to return home with in home care. We are hoping for that because she does not want to go to an assisted living facility or nursing home (I don't blame her).  

Plans are to go up and visit her early Saturday, stop by her house and pick up the cat and more papers and then hopefully be home for the rest of the day.  

BTW - This bunny was running around her yard this morning and stopped when it saw me.  Just long enough to get the camera and snap a few pictures and then it dashed into the woods. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.