Reflections of a Quintessential Summer Day

It was a gorgeous summer day, the kind you remember from childhood. It was well beyond pleasant out. Blue sky with puffy white clouds, warm but not hot, a delightful breeze. We packed up our chairs and cooler and beach bags and headed for Greenwood Furnace for an early swim, which would be followed by a truly delicious, hot, home-cooked meal at Couch's in McAlevy's Fort.

We knew it would get hot later on in the day, and crowded, so we headed out early. And when we got there, the place was almost deserted. There were maybe a half-dozen people in the swimming area. Just a few cars dotted the parking lots.

I left my husband with our chairs near the swimming area, and walked around taking pictures. This included visiting a pretty little cemetery nearby for the first time. I adore graveyards, and finding a new one is like finding a treat hidden in the Cracker Jack box. I love cemeteries, and photographing them is one of my favorite hobbies.

When I came back from visiting the little cemetery, I spotted a figure moving against the landscape. Who could that be but my husband, in his bright red swim-shorts, wading out into the water and getting ready for a cool and refreshing swim.

I would join him in the water in just a few shakes of a lamb's tale, but of course, first, I had to photograph the scene: blue skies, puffy white clouds, the everlasting hills of green, and my husband in the midst of it all, just one man against the summer sky.

The song: Heart, Under the Sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.