Tudor Rose

By TudorRose

Mobbed outside Greggs!

Well being mobbed isn't quite the truth.

I am sort of guilty. OK... Being honest it amused me no end! The people who work at Greggs and have to suffer these pigeons everyday, were not! But I just cannot help it, its my inner child. Wasn't it C.S. Lewis who said "When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up. This statement pretty much sums up my state of mind when I realised the pigeons interest in my sausage roll. Plus I also saw a blip opportunity, you cant argue with that!

So crumbs at the ready I tried to entice the four pigeons milling around. Honest there were only four! then from out of nowhere millions about twenty appeared, god only knows where they were hiding.

I neglected to mention there was also a couple of teenage boys on the bench outside the shop eating a couple of pasties and upon seeing the gathering decided to join in... Actually they were my sons and they appreciated my childish humour. Pretty soon there was a plethora of pigeons causing trouble and mayhem eating pasty crumbs.

We had to make a swift getaway! The natives were restless and we had managed to fill the entire pavement with pigeons.

P.S. Looked up the collective name for a group of pigeons thinking it would be something interesting and no... its either a "flock" or "flight" of pigeons.
I expected something like; A pie of pigeons or A confusion, but no it was not meant to be.

So concludes my exciting trip to the town centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.