Marathon!

In a moment of madness, I've entered a 10Km fell race in September, so in need to get a bit of training in, Deb suggested we went out for a run today.  Her plans were to run a long route round Derwentwater, mine were to accompany her halfway, so I parked my car at Rosthwaite, and she gave me a lift to Nichol End. We ran clockwise around the route (extra, map) through Portinscale, Keswick, round the head of Derwentwater, up to Watendlath and down to Rosthwaite. Had a sandwich and replenished water (which was in the coolbox in my car) then, feeling OK, I continued up High Spy (WALKED) and ran from there, over Maiden moor, round Catbells and back to Nichol End. 

Devoured their biggest scone in seconds, and had a well-earned brew. Reckon the run/walk was about 27Km.

Second extra was the rather wonderful crepuscular rays I woke up to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.