Germany Day 2

I took this shot on an early(ish) walk after breakfast this morning. Behind the hotel there are a few houses and miles and miles of farmers’ fields. It was beautifully sunny and already quite hot.

I spent the rest of the day looking for lost legions who definitely didn’t want to be found and being held to ransom by a large German waitress (see Igor’s blip).

Not knowing any German is still messing with my head. Not as many Germans speak English as you might think (why would they!) and the word hamster hasn’t been seen or heard all day (so far) and Dollydoug’s bustenhalter hasn’t had a mention. It’s a bit scary when you see a sign which is obviously a warning about something and you have absolutely no idea what it says. Before the end of the holiday I’m bound to fall off the edge of something or trip over an invisible step or go through a door I’m not allowed to go through. 

I have, however, discovered that wine is just an anagram of our word and and that ausfahrt is an exit off the motorway (it makes me laugh in a childlike fashion every time I see it and we’ve seen it a lot today!). But my favourite word of the day has to be **werbeartikel. I saw it outside a factory shop selling workshoes (there was a picture) and werbeartikel. 

** I looked it up. It means promotional articles (apparently). I would much rather it had been a bear with fangs that appear every full moon and very soft fur.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.