Germany Day 3

Igor has been wanting me to see the Marta Herford Museum since he visited last year. I’ve heard a lot about it and it didn’t disappoint. The building is amazing (but very hard to photograph).

Such was our keeness we arrived at the museum an hour before it opened. 10:00am seemed like a reasonable time for a museum to open but it didn’t open until 11:00am. We found a department store across the road where we were able to find a seat and wait until opening time. It wasn’t until a shop assistant came out giving us strange looks that we saw the price tags on our seats and realised we’d been making ourselves at home on the goods for sale in a furniture shop. We pretended to look as though we might be in the market for a comfy bench and coffee table and then made ourselves scarce. Igor found himself another seat and I found myself in a dress shop. It happened to be their sale so I came out a few euros lighter and a T-shirt and dress better off….. oops!

My blip was taken as we went back to the museum at opening time. Just at that time the word Marta was written on the floor in the shadow caused by the sun coming up behind the building. Very clever.

Extras:
I found a black hole in a nearby universe. I walked round it.
A view of the museum from the multi story carpark.


Word of the day - blechbearbeitung. Not a ‘fierce black biting bear’ but ‘sheet metal processing’ (who’d’ve thought?) I like the German motto “why use three words when one will do”. I also learned a more useful word ‘zucherfrei’ which means sugar free but is much nicer to say. Still not seen the words hamster or bustenhalter or auspuff but as we left the multi story carpark it wished us a ‘gut fahrt’ (still giggling!!!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.