Tête-à-Tête with a Dragonfly

Most of the shots I get of dragonflies are taken with my 70-400 mm lens, because if I try to get close to them, they will fly away and this lens will give me a nice close up from about 5 feet away.  This morning, I went back to the Sunflower fields and was using my 90 mm f/2.8 macro lens with a 16 mm extension tube, having bees in mind.  I saw this female Blue Dasher dragonfly on a sunflower leaf and took my shots, moved a little closer, took some more and so on.  I was able to get so close to it that I got inside my minimum focusing distance and actually had to back off a bit.  The 90 mm lens has a minimum focusing distance of 11 inches, but with the extension tube it is about 6 inches.  This photo is uncropped.  If you look at the extra you will see a cropped version and you should be able to see the eye facets and you will notice that it needs a shave.   Who knew they had little whiskers! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.