Olympic Pole Vaulter

I tried to go to the Patuxent Wildlife Refuge, North Tract to get some shots of the Hummingbirds training for the upcoming Alternative Olympic Games, but some sort of traffic issue blocked the road from both directions preventing access, so I had to make my way to the South Tract Training Center.  There I found the Blue Darners practicing their pole vaulting, one of whom can be seen here. Just look at the concentration on his face.  I know this image is more of the same as yesterday, but I just couldn’t resist this fine athletic specimen. Team Butterfly was also busy practicing their thistle hopping, although some of the team members looked like they had wing injuries and will need intensive rehab if they are going to be ready to compete when the games start on August 5. 

For more information about these games, please head on over to dbifulco's page for details.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.