Magical Morning

I spent the morning with the Hummingbirds at the Patuxent Wildlife Refuge and Research Center.  The Rangers there have set out 7 hummingbird feeders in close proximity outside their office. They are so popular with the hummingbirds that they have to be filled to the top every 24 hours and fortunately for the photographers, they do it religiously.  As a result, there are dozens of hummingbirds buzzing about.  I stayed for several hours and took hundreds of shots, most of which went into to the bin, but this one I was quite happy with.  It is so amazing to watch them and their antics. I was so engrossed, I nearly forgot that it was 90+ degrees.  

This is a male Ruby-Throated Hummingbird.  I have added a shot of the female in the extras. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.