Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Hot One

Well the predictions were right, a scorching day over much of the country.  I decided to take an early stroll before the heat got too much.  I really should have taken my own advice (see later)!  I saw a black cap in amongst the bushes, but couldn't capture a worthwhile image.

Later we got our tandem out for a first ride in 2 years.  The plan was ambitious.  Ride to work, about 10 miles where a parcel with greeting cards was waiting for me.  Then on to Weston Park, who want the said cards to sell in their gallery.  Finally a ride home.  Ahem, talk about biting off more than you can chew!

All seemed fine, initially.  The trip to work was OK once the legs started getting used to the alien activity.  We also stopped for a bit of lunch then headed on to the Park.  Still OK, well I was starting to feel uncomfortable between my shoulder blades.  Then the final return leg!  Oh dear, how unfit I have become.  We stopped at least 5 times.  The shoulders were becoming very uncomfortable, the legs seemed to have given up on turning. Never have I been more grateful when we turned into the street where we live.  34 miles, in total, ouch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.