But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Linus Delivery.

If you forget the recycling bank, this collection of bags, box and suitcase contain the remnants of quilts Mrs TD delivered to the “Sick Kids” today with just a couple of wards left to visit. Herself’s contribution of 52 quilts collected from the good ladies of the Lothians are a small part of the 2,000 delivered each month to children in hospitals and refuges throughout the U.K.
 
Having done my duty to Project Linus U.K, I was allowed out on this one day of summer with its temperature in the mid-thirties (low 90s in old money) in the shade and shelter of the walled garden that is my apiary, I took a leaf out of the book of an acquaintance of a friend who wears nothing but bra’ and pants under her bee suit. I didn't venture into the world of transvestism, neither was I quite that carefree, but wore shorts and a t-shirt instead of my usual trousers and jumper; the bees did take minor advantage of my reduced protection but, now that the one rogue queen has been replaced, they are all of a gentle disposition. I don’t see any point  in caring for a band of vicious brutes for a pastime. Two of the colonies are now in a position to produce a crop of lime honey from the blossom just ready to open, while the third could have time to build up enough to make a useful contribution if the weather is good for the next three weeks. The one fly in the ointment is that thunderstorms are due here in just a few hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.