But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Crook Inn.

Following Wednesday’s uncomfortable cycle ride, I consulted the local pharmacist and was given special dispensation to forgo the unfortunately explosive indigestion remedy. She also suggested that cycling probably did more for my health than all the other pills I swallow so I could probably manage without them for the twenty four hours prior to exercise. The result was the most comfortable day in the saddle that I’ve experienced for a long time and the last ride in my build up for the big one next week. Today's route covered the same distance as that covered by the riders in The Tour today though it did take me a little bit longer.
 
The Blip is of The Crook Inn (honestly), having been established in 1604, it is one of the many hostelries in Britain claiming to be the oldest. If memory serves me correctly – and it rarely does – I last entered its portals during the 2001 foot and mouth outbreak while riding today’s route, when it served very good cheese scones and coffee. It subsequently closed in 2006, was purchased by the local community  for £160k in 2013 and work began on its refurbishment. The Facebook page has had no activity for nearly a year and there seems to be little to show for the community’s efforts. It seems that The Crook was closed with the intention of converting it into housing rather than because it was a failing business so it would be nice if its renovation was successfully completed, but I can’t see the old place ever regaining its former popularity.
 
Thanks to JanetHH for hosting this week’s Derelict Sunday challenge with the theme, “Sign.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.