A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Instructions for a Heatwave

Water based games helped all round. Though I see there may be an argument that the small smattering of water imbibed by the jumping dog may not be sufficient to outweigh the heat expended by making the jump. She got some impressive height though I'm sure you'll agree.

I have taken almost all day to do a piece of work that, had my brain been at a normal temperature (and I been able to resist the lure of the sunny garden and The Chair), should have taken about a third of the time. I did balance things out by completing a second piece of work in record time by decamping to our local deli that has amazing air conditioning. And just happened to have an "escape the sun 10% discount on a glass of rose".

Another mixed day for Jackson but some good positives....40minutes and a game and a half of Bananagrams. The first game was aborted when we realised I had all the vowels and J was on a hiding to nowhere. He both won the second game and had a considerably more impressive board than me. He has a totally different strategy which I am going to try next time we play. A water fight with Peri and Anna (with some Albi collateral damage). And a Simpsons episode before bedtime.

Anna, meanwhile, learned a new game (Gubs) and a new magic trick. And only got mildly frustrated at restricted cartwheeling following a whack to the knee.

And we have discovered / invented the cold water bottle using cans from the drinks fridge which Carlos keeps at super chill. I haven't seen her since so I presume it has worked.

Carlos is out with the bloke who introduced us in the place where we met. It weirdly kind of feels like I'm there. Though I'm pretty confident there is no air conditioning and tomorrow I am hoping to get up at stupid o'clock to give the mutt a decent walk that doesn't make me feel like I will be done for animal cruelty.

Oh and this one is probably only for my memory and some lurkers...I found Jake Peralta (Brooklyn Nine Nine) in an entirely different guise (Cuckoo). A different sort of funny from BNN but I rather enjoyed it. Also has the wonderful Greg Davies and Helen Baxendale .

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.