... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Bumblebee and hoverfly on hogweed inflorescence

Definitely more interesting large.
I visited the large pond on Wandsworth Common this afternoon; I was there for a couple of hours which was wonderful... I saw the tufted ducks, mallards, a single Egyptian gosling (Alone?! The rest must have been in the inaccessible animals-only section of the pond...), Canadian geese, swans, a heron, coots, moorhens... There was also a lot of insect activity going on. I was very much spoilt for choice!

So, here we have two insects peacefully coexisting: they are on the inflorescence of a hogweed plant (Heracleum sphondylium). Hogweeds are umbelliferous plants: their flowers are arranged in an umbrella-like inflorescence. I mention it because I think umbelliferous is a charming word!

I don't (yet!) have a macro lens, so this was just taken at the long end of my supremely flexible 18-200 Nikkor lens.
I was tempted to blip a floating feather, but I'm blipping this because it is less like my usual fare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.