Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

The Long Weekend Closes

WOMAD - Day 3

The day began rainy and then rained some more. I sat in my tent and hoped it would pass. It did!

Despite another couple of showers in the afternoon the weather perked up enough to make for another thoroughly enjoyable day although my back was increasingly sore from so much standing and my legs got so stiff every time I sat down that I could barely walk once I got up again... But, hey, there was still plenty of music to be enjoyed, tail-feathers to be shaken, food to be eaten and sights to be seen!

I was so impressed with the Manganiyar Seduction on Friday that I went to see it again tonight and was seduced afresh. Mel and Linda loved it too and we followed the performance with a nightcap of piping hot chocolate (slug of brandy optional) and a bit of a sit down as we absorbed the sensory feast, and sudden drop in temperature, of the final night of our trip. Good times!

Other acts I saw today:

The Alaev Family (Tajikistan/Israel) - the energy of Bellowhead, the rhythms and harmonies of Central Asia, the grins of Cheshire Cats!
Chet Nuneta (France/Spain/Italy/Morocco) - one of my festival highlights. Percussion, harmony, movement, magic!
Pine Leaf Boys (USA) - born on the bayou...
The Barons of Tang (Australia) - thrash tango/gypsy deathcore
Orquesta Buena Vista Social Club (Cuba) - classic sounds, ultra smooth!
Robert Plant/Sensational Space Shifters (UK/Gambia) - rock god and pals
Terem Quartet (Russia) - balalaikas-u-like!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.