Aubergine!

Well the tin said Beetroot but the colour was this and is the colour I wanted so all good! But it's definitly more aubergine! I was up early to give the second coat and blooming good job I was as the heat was intense! Maid man arrived so we had a cup of tea and Broad Bean woman arrived so she joined us and we talked bees, chickens, rats and builders! Specifically how builders play loud music! The builder working on the house 2 doors down likes heavy Rock and it's really not the music you want to listen on a hot day - or any day come to that! 
I dug more potatoes - the ones I planted for last christmas which never appeared - but early for this christmas! I wasn't going to water but even the Swiss Chard was wilting in the heat so rather than having dry leaves i decided the risk of scorched leaves from water splashes was worth it! Then it was time for more tea and hot toast and marmite! I discovered some old pan grills that I had discovered in the open compost container I had inherited with the plot, so I salvaged a couple of bricks from the plot and made myself a grill over the stove! Maid man and I sat in the sun and had our tea and toast and had another good old chat! After this I poured water under the chicken shanty town to keep the girls cool and then headed home to wait once more for the call from Friend. My car said the temperature was 33C!!!!
I waited, and waited, and waited, and finally fell asleep then woke and waited some more! Finally at 5.30 she called - scan was not done so instead of coming home and going back in wednesday she was staying another night!  I was a little relieved as although my car has air con the heat was making me decidedly funny - I had searched through my attic for the lightest and most miniscule dress I owned as I was perspiring just sitting still! I then moved everything away from my windows and conservatory doors both inside and out as tomorrow the window cleaner was coming! Not the thing to do in such heat but it had to be done! I noticed clouds rolling in and a couple of drops of rain fell and i got excited at the thought of a thunderstorm - but it never transpired - up early to water the allotment tomorrow then! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.