Survivor.

The site just crashed on me so forgive me if this sounds rushed - I've just finished reading this book which despite being harrowing, I found very inspirational. My parents had a friend who was out in Burma but he would never speak of his experiences.
 I would have found the heat and disease as well as the cruelty unbearable but bear it Reg Twigg did. He writes:
' Across the river i saw two rock pinnacles  ....lit by the dying sun. A soft wind whistled the bamboo leaves near me although I hadn't been aware of any wind until then. The sound seemed to fade , the murmuring  of the lads, the jabbering of the Japanese, and I felt a kind of peace I can't describe.
I've thought about this since . I'm not a religious person.........I'd seen too many men die around me along the bloody river to believe in a kind and caring God . And yet , as I sat on the River Kwai waiting for that dynamite blast, something happened to me. Something intangible. Something I can't explain. But it was something that told me that I'd be all right; I was going to get out of this somehow. I'm not a religious person. I don't believe in God .
And yet........... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.