Wojtek

Did you all hear the thunder this morning? I was sitting watching the torrential rain and the lightning from the bedroom window this morning. I could hear thunder too but I was being brave, until all of a sudden there was a really loud crack and had to jump down. I wasn't frightened, you understand, I just felt it was my duty to check on the other cats to make sure they were ok too.

Swannie had another late shift, another run to Berwick and back. On the return journey, she had no passenger on when she went through Duns so she stopped to take a picture of this statue of Wojtek, the Polish bear. He was a real bear who was brought to Berwickshire by Polish soldiers during World War Two. He is quite famous, and this statue was gifted to Duns by its twin town of Zagan in Poland.

He looks big and fierce, I'm glad he was on our side during the war, lots of love, JJ, xx.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.