alicemorris97

By alicemorris97

Alhambra Palace

We got up super early today (like, before 7am. That's early, especially for a holiday), but I weirdly liked it. I think it's because it reminded me of Soul Survivor and New Wine - the annual Christian conferences that take place over the summer. It reminded me of waking up early on cool summer mornings, seeing the world around me slowly wake up. It's kind of nice. Not saying I'd make a routine of it though. Maybe one day?

We went to the Alhambra Palace in Granada (about an hour's drive away - we went early in the day to avoid the heat. It rose to about 40 degrees. Woah.). It is BEAUTIFUL. It was originally built by a Muslim ruler, and then was taken over when the Catholics invaded, so there are so many Arabic influences. The detail is astounding.

It did make me laugh that the Catholics took it over and yet there was still all of this amazingly intricate Arabic writing in the buildingwork and they probably had no idea what it means. It also made me sad thinking about all of the crusades that were done in the name of Jesus, many of which Jesus would not have condoned. Anyway, rant over.

We came back and had a much needed siesta, before going to the pool. I managed to Skype Dan after swimming which was so lovely. There's a bar near our apartment that I know the WiFi password to, and so I sneakily sit outside it to Skype Dan. I call that intuition..

We had a lovely meal out on Torrox Costa and saw a band playing, they were really good! They played jazz and swing music (one of my favourite genres). We then had an evening coffee before heading back to the apartment.

P.S. There are lots of extra photos today :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.