Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

David and Lorraine :)

I spied this dinky narrowboat on the canal this morning with a chappie inside.  His lovely wife then breezed back to the boat with supplies from the local shop and we started chatting......
David and Lorraine......WHAT a fascinating couple! 
They're from mid Wales and are doing a loop tour on the canals.  They'd been through over 300 locks (she told me the exact figure but I didn't pay enough attention silly me) and they'd set off in May.

AND... get this....... David built the boat himself!!!!! :O 
AND ..... get this too......it's made from 60% recycled material.  The port holes were washing machine doors, the handrail at the back was a stairs' bannister.... the gear lever was a toilet flush! Even the bike was saved from someone who threw it away. 
They were so lovely... I said they should have made a programme of their travels... like Timothy West and Prunella Scale's adorable canal series.  A bit of a squeeze on this for the film crew though.
I walked by again early evening..... and they'd sailed away bless em! 

PS, not as sharp as I would have liked, I used my 28 - 70 kit lens and the difference in clarity is much less than my prime 55.  I just need a wide angle sometimes... hmmmm...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.