Sub Alpine Biodiversity

Some days just have it all :)

Today was marginally cooler and I headed slightly higher which also helped. I've made a plan to get to know the Rochers des Fiz area better this year. It dominates my view and yet because of its proximity to the Haute Montagne I've spent very little time there....so far.
Today I walked through stunning meadows up to Barmus, and then left the track to scramble some  spectacular limestone outcrops by le Derochoir on the edge of the treeline, probably around the 1900m contour. The geology here is fascinating and many a book has been written on it - but one of the added benefits of such complex geology is the rich biodiversity, both flora and fauna, that it generates. Once you leave the ski areas of Plan Joux behind its an area that's seldom visited, my favourite kind.
Today I walked through meadows that were solid swathes of yellows, purples, pinks and blues. Butterflies filled the air and as I scrambled on rocks covered in beautiful alpine plants growing in the most implausible of places my only companions were little lizards and soaring golden eagles.

My extra collage:
Walking in the woods I was delighted to find dozens of beautiful red hellebores, very rare in the UK less so here but still a special find.
I was also amazed to finally see a Hummingbird hawk moth - little camera struggled lots - as many of you will know - these are difficult to catch.
The (extinct in the uk) black veined white butterfly's were just as the books describe, large, playful and social. The Clouded Yellow was wonderfully vibrant, the Blue too flighty for me to identify more. I *now*: think there's a Large Wall Brown as well, thanks to some help from the ever knowledgeable Fairweathergirl

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.