Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Friendly Little Redhead

This Downy Woodpecker was drilling away at the log suet feeder in the front yard this afternoon.  When I went out to take pictures, I got as close as I could to him with the big lens (~7 feet min focal distance) and took several shots.  I didn't like the angle, so I backed up slowly to avoid scaring him off.  He then proceeded to fly toward me and landed on a branch just 10" from where I was standing.  He sat there for a minute, gave me a couple of looks, and then went back to the feeder.  I then walked up to him from a different angle and got this shot.   

I'm tempted to take a chunk of suet food out next time he shows up and see if it will eat out of my hand.

Happy Thursday and hope you have cooler weather than Washington, DC.  Today is our "cool" day with 90F/32C temps.  Will be pushing 100F/37C over the weekend with humidity and haze.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.