Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Eat and Greet

I carried Penny outside this morning so that she could watch the birds and squirrels.  She remained very calm as I walked very slowly toward the bird feeder.  We finally stopped about 18" away.  While we were there, two squirrels proceed up the tree next to us and then jumped on to the feeder.  As the cat started to chatter, I thought for sure that the squirrels would run away.  But they did not!  In addition to that, a young Mockingbird landed right next to the feeder and started chirping at us.  A very cool experience for sure and wish I had two extra hands to get a photo of the five of us.  

Penny's heart was racing and she started to pull away so that she could go after the critters. So I took her back inside, went back out with the macro lens and worked my way back to the feeder.  This little guy stayed put as I approached and would eat a little bit of bird food and then would jump on a branch and watch me.  

Here he is just a mere 12-15 inches away from the end of the lens!  BTW - This picture is not cropped.  See today's Extra Photos for a side profile shot.

Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.