Grey and red

Happy Yorkshire Day!
Met up with a friend and her 2 year old today, and as I knew there would be little time for photography with the Little Miss requiring all our attention, I went down to the brook for an hour beforehand to see what was about. I'd hoped for a redstart, but instead saw a couple of grey wagtails catching flies and posing nicely amongst the rocks by the bridge. The name makes them sound like a dull bird, but they have a lot of yellow on them, and are quite striking little creatures, and not easy to photograph because of their contrasting colours and constant bobbing movements. This shot was the least blurred I could manage. I did see some redpolls at the feeders later, but I preferred the natural setting of this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.