An afternoon at the beach

Today we did something that I have never, ever done in the whole of my 12 year old collie dog life............................ We spent an afternoon at the beach??!!

…...........Obviously I have been to the beach loads of times because we live in a seaside town...................... But I have never, ever, been to the beach for a few hours where Ann has just sat down and relaxed and I've been allowed to play.

Ann doesn't really do 'sitting around on the beach'. She only sits around on the beach if she is with friends. If she's by herself, she much prefers our very sunny sun terrace because she has everything she needs close by – drinks, toilet, magazines, wifi, radio, food, etc, etc.

Anyway this afternoon it was mega hot but not very sunny so Ann said, 'Molly, the tide's out (there's no dog friendly beach if the tide is in). Let's go down to the dog friendly beach for a couple of hours. You can swim & go splish, splash, sploshing with all the other doggies and I'll just sit and watch you and read my trashy magazines.'

…...............So that is what we did......................

And actually............................ after playing with a load of other doggies and doing a bit of swimming, and doing a bit of rolling around on my back on the sand, and trying to get the people sitting next to us to give me a bit of gingerbread man biscuit, even though I was doing my best appealing look they just ignored me I was totally exhausted................

….............So I just dug a hole and lay down next to Ann for the next hour or so.

And actually Ann quite liked it down on the beach......................

…...........Apparently we're going to go down there again........................ But next time we're taking a picnic, water for me, a little tent so we have a shady area, a little chair so Ann doesn't get a sore bum from sitting on a rock............... and maybe even a bottle of wine???!!!

#Rollonsummer!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.