fs2012

By FrankS

Day Off

I was due to see a customer this afternoon but she called off with a bad cold. That gave me a day off. That's actually a bit of a misnomer as every day is a day off for me, I just choose not to take it sometimes :-)

As Ann was driving over to Wellesbourne this morning to visit an ex-client I bummed a lift, along with my camera.

Now Wellesbourne is not the most exciting place in the UK, though I'm sure the people who live there love it. Most of it is modern overspill but there is a half decent pub in the Kings Head and an old part of the village, plus an old church; it should also be mentioned it has one of the UK's largest outdoor market, at the airfield, not on today unfortunately.

The photo is of the other pub in Wellesbourne, The Stags Head, I can't comment on the interior or the beer as I've never been in there, but it looked very pretty in an 'Old English' postcard sort of way with its thatched roof and hollyhocks in the front.

I met Ann at the Kings Head for a pint of 6X and watched the women's pairs rowing win our first gold medal.

It was a reasonable day for Team GB with another gold in the cycling and a medal in the men's rowing; also Murray is through to the next round in the tennis and I'm currently watching the football where we're one goal up.

I made carrot, apple and celery soup for tea. Must say it was delicious, and very filling :-)

Late News: Team GB won the match 1-0 against Uruguay and subsequently are top of their group. That means we will be watching Team GB play their Quarter Final match at Cardiff on Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.