Nor’wester 7.49am

Mount Torlesse had its head in the clouds, while its shoulders were in the sunshine. This was the start of a mostly mild day, with an often wildly gusty nor’wester.

The dry conditions were perfect for gardening. I attacked the four currant and one gooseberry bushes edging the back lawn. They haven’t been pruned for years. Manipulating the secateurs deep in the bushes was difficult. The white currant was overgrown with grass, and the gooseberry was buried in dead broom branches.
I reduced all bushes to about one third of their bulk and removed a lot of grass, weeds, dead branches and leaf litter. I generated several large piles of waste. By the time it was done I’d been at it for nearly five hours and I felt wrecked. Then my dear son came along and said he’d clear up. I went inside and sat down. When I looked out it was all gone. What a relief. The lawn looks a lot bigger now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.