Reflections

A brilliant sunny day. As soon as I could I defrosted my car and headed for the old quarry, hoping the flood water would be deep enough for reflections. Not only was it deep enough, but it overflowed the banks and streamed out across the road. This is a rare occurrence. Normally the quarry is dry. It was so beautiful. Welcome swallows flitted over the water, paradise shelducks shrieked and honked, and pied oystercatchers called overhead.

Fortunately I’d worn gumboots (wellies) and was able to paddle about for the best positions. I was afraid a car would come along and spray me, but I managed to avoid that.

While I was there the farmer who owns the land opposite stopped for a chat. He invited me into his deer paddock to take photos of the deer. How marvellous! It was not easy because of a high electric fence between the deer and me. The best captures have wire in the way. They were wary of me when I approached close to the wire and ran away each time a car went past.

This shot is best full screen. In extra shots are two more reflection shots, and one of the deer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.