Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

An Inviting Walk, Cannock Chase

I made another sunrise (see extras), driving up onto the Chase only for the fog and mist to close in and block out the sun I had seen rise a few minutes earlier.  Still there are compensations and the light was still very special.  Normally this scene would be too busy, with the foreground trees, merging into those behind but the mist allowed for the separation to make everything sit well in the scene.

As I said I got out early enough for sunrise and managed to get these two extra shots, before the sun rose behind a second bank of clouds.  The mono image is a homage to the work of local Staffordshire artist, John Waterhouse, who I have admired for many years.  He does in painting what I aspire to in photography.  He will often use early and late light, combined with mist and low sun to create beautiful paintings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.