Desperately seeking

By clickychick

LRPS

I filled in my application form in mid January and chose my assessment day, it has taken six months to get to the point of receiving this certificate in the post this morning.

I've done 2,688 blips so, at a conservative estimate, I must have 100,000 images on my hard drives. Producing a cohesive panel of ten images out of that lot would be easy. Right? WRONG! I was still taking images to within days of mounting my prints in the hope of producing something more worthy!

Anyhow, they were duly dispatched and all I could do was wait and see what they thought. They weren't keen on this one, which I really loved, saying:- 
 "The panel members stated concerns with the technical quality. The reason for this is that there is a badly burnt out highlight in the white part of the plant.  There are also distracting light areas in the background of the image." 
Oh, dear! BUT they were willing to, not only hold onto my panel until I sent a replacement print, but also, they were willing to give me a critique on 3 digital images to help me choose a substitute so I didn't need to go through the entire process again.

When you submit a panel you have to send a layout plan of your images in 1, 2 or 3 rows. This is a very important part of the assessment as they have to look well together as well as being individually good and demonstrating technique. If you want to have a look at my panel, it's here. A lot of them have been blips and one of them was actually taken on a blipmeet at Caldbeck earlier this year. It was worth that long walk up The Howk! 

If you're wanting to do this yourself, become a member of the RPS now. Their monthly journals are beautiful and full of examples of how to go about getting their distinctions. Their website is inspirational, too.

I owe a lot of thanks to folk here, some have been following me for more than seven years. Down the years so many of you have been giving me encouragement in your comments and I've always welcomed the constructive ones. Thank you! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.