MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Prevention is Better than Cure

Today I attempted to navigate a new healthcare system with my new insurance. Thankfully Obama helped me hold onto my life-long primary care physician until December last year, but now it's off to an adult world of understanding my coverage and co-pays and which doctors I can see and when I can see them. If the price of coverage isn't prohibitive, surely comprehending your rights and obligations as an insurance carrier is.

All the same, I received my yearly check up, some blood work, and an eye exam. It was a busy day indeed! We'll see if the blood work is covered by my insurance (finger's crossed), and I can confirm that the vision insurance's promise of free lenses every year is a bit bogus. After paying $40 for the frames (what the insurance wouldn't cover) and $85 for the lenses themselves (who gets frames without lenses, insurance? riddle me that!) I have my third pair of glasses ever. I thought I could use a backup in case my frames of 6 years ever decide they've had enough. And now I won't need new ones for another 6 years, so bully!

While waiting for my dilated eyes to return to normal, I slipped into the Thai Place for a little lunch. How ironic my fortune cookie should tell me what I'm doing is right. Get your yearly checkups, girl! After an afternoon in the office, Mike and I worked out again, adding more to the fortune cookie's wisdom, and a photo to my blippage. (And I must say, despite his reticence at posing, Mike would actually make a very good hand model.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.