The Fallen Eagle!!

Remember the baby eagle that fell from the tree when the branch supporting the nest fell? Well, here is Little Miss Eaglet; she flew up to this branch from the ground where the parents have been flying down and feeding hers for the last few weeks. I am sure they were always close by watching over her too. Thanks to Musings, I was able to find the baby girl up on this branch. Look at the extra and you will see how difficult it would have been for me to find her. That photo in the extra is zoomed in . Oh yeah, Musings even saw her fly and circle around in the sky yesterday. Amazing. Two years ago Junior sat in the nest testing his wings forever before he was brave enough to take a flight. This little girl has spunk!   Oh, by the way, while we were watching "Little Miss", one of the parents flew in with a big fish...he landed out of our sight but eventually took the fish to the ground. Then we heard another juvenile crying on the ground while Little Miss was quietly sitting on the branch ( I think it was Junior, the baby from two years ago, but others may disagree). I saw the second juvenile fly up from the wetland and circle higher and higher with both the parents following him. Then a Osprey flew into the mix and dive bombed one of the adults. While all this was happening Musings was video taping our sweet Little Miss as she flew the short distance from one tree to another.  Before long one of the parents flew back in and landed by Little Miss and encouraging her to come get some food she was tearing apart on a near-by branch. Little Miss stubbornly stayed exactly where she was. The little girl was still sitting on the same branch when Mom flew off to ward off another intruder ..........and she was still in the same spot when I drove by an hour later. I guess she just wasn't hungry.  I have not been as obsessed with watching the juvenile eagle as she learns to survive. Two years ago there were several us sitting watching the nest for 3-4-5 hours a day, now we each pop in when we have time. :-))  I am grateful for the friendships formed during that time two years ago....but don't feel a need to stay there that long any more. But it is great fun seeing other birders and catching up while I am at the site where the nest used to be.
 I will have to count on Musings to keep me up to date on our eagles because we drove back to the beach this afternoon.
Thanks for visiting and taking the time to read all that.....if you actually did!  I heard there is an albino fawn around this area, my husband saw it last week; I will see if I can find it and get a photo tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.