Life In Wales

By KarenC

Lavender Fields

I left Rachel's just after 9am as I wanted to stop off at Mayfield Lavender Farm in Surrey on my way home.  My journey was fine until I got on the M25 and then it was like a car park.  The Sat Nav announced that 19 minutes of delay had been added to my route, and suggested I might like to take an alternative route that would save me 18 mins, so naturally I decided to take that option.  That was a big  mistake!  

'She' took me past Hampton Court Palace in queuing traffic that was worse than the motorway and eventually added 1 hour to my journey!  It 30 degrees and I just wanted to get where I was going - I couldn't even change my mind and go home as I was on the wrong side of the river.

Anyway, I eventually got to the Lavender fields at 2.30pm and it was worth the effort - as soon as I opened the car window to pay my entry fee, I was welcomed by the smell, it was wonderful!  The one thing I thought was quite amusing was the red telephone box in the middle of the field, it certainly proved as much of an attraction as the lavender.

I spotted this little girl in the middle of the lavender and I love this image even though her face is obscured by her hair, I think it has a dream like feel to it.  Alan preferred the other one of her that I've put in my extras as you can see her face, but I don't think the composition is as good.  I'd be interested to see what you think.

Luckily my journey home from there was ok and I got home at 4.30pm.  I called to collect Coco as Elif has a stall at 'Pure London' for the next three days so we're having her until tomorrow and then I'm dropping her off with another friend where she'll stay until Tuesday.

Alan's been busy working on the inside of the 'Palace' and has started painting the ceiling. I helped when I got back and painted the back wall, but the emulsion paint is proving quite slow going, so I think we're now going to revert to the exterior paint that we used.  

I've had a busy few days so apologies for my lack of comments - hope you're having a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.