Pedal the blues away

Quite simply the most enjoyable fun I have had for a long time, and just what the doctor ordered to pedal this week's blues away. 

For mbfiatw's partner, Patrick's, birthday celebration, people (22 of us I think) met at Finch's pub in Finsbury Square late afternoon, and after a little drinkypoo,  walked around the corner to our our hired transport - pedal buses ("pedibus") - for a self propelled tour of the streets of London that generated a great reaction from those we pedalled past and a lot of jolly hilarity and fun for us for a whole, glorious 90 minutes. The bonhomie of those we 'cycled' passed, the cheering, the photo snapping, the waving, well, you'd have though we'd just won the olympics or something.  Full score on the feel good factor.  Can't tell you why it was so much fun - because it is so ridiculous?  Dunno. The young lady who was our navigator/driver was amazed at our speed and stamina, considering the, ahem, average age of the participants (I think she is more accustomed to a younger clientele...) - but of course what she didn't know was that several of the participants are serious cyclists (well, no, not me...) so much so that we had to stop a couple of times because our progress was too fast.... 

As well as all this jolly fun, was the pleasure from seeing mbfiatw, Jean's elder offspring - Lydia and Ian - don't remember when I last saw them. Several years. Marvellous. 

After the pedal bus adventure, we all moved on down to the Embankment for a couple of pints at Tattershall Castle moored-ferry-boat-bar on the Thames. Sadly I don't recall the name of the beers .....  This is where I took the (extra) photo that I was going to use for my blip - lovely evening sunlight on 'Big Ben' - but when Jean shared Tracy's pics of us all on the pedal bus on FB, I changed my mind and choose this pic - I am actually smiling haven't done much of that recently - for this visual reminder of such a fun time.  (Thanks Tracy for the photos - I hope you don't mind !) 

Very late home, circle line delays. Who cares? Feeling happy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.