Capital adventures

By marchmont

Home grown

The weather foiled me today.  I was going to go out and about today, the Secret Herb Garden was top of the list but it rained, a lot.  So I didn't do much at all.  My major achievements - finally booking New Year in KL (and even then not sure I've booked the right day).  I also made some duff bread and in a break in the rain pruned some bushes that have flowered.

I didn't book Festival tickets but I did download some books from the Library.

Yesterday I dug up my first potatoes from one bag.  Half were eaten yesterday. this is the rest.  

I was distracted mid afternoon by some family history stuff, not really mine though.  J and D are off to India when I'm in KL.  His grandfather was the Rev Robert Sinclair who had two charges. The first was in South India working for the London Missionary Society where he built a church in Marthandam based on the design of Cambuslang Old Parish Church, founded a College (still in existence) and his wife supported the Embroidery School. After 30 years in India he came back to Scotland in 1939 and became minister at Morison Memorial Church in Clydebank where he was a great support to his parishioners during the Clydebank blitz.  So having nothing else to do I went back and discovered a family that originated in Cambuslang with a seamstress and via a colliery blacksmith/mason has led to the minister and then 3 generations of doctors. And a bit of googling spat out the information that an illegitimate paternal line led back to a farm in Ayrshire and a link to Sir Harry Lauder. It would appear that his wife was the 3rd cousin of the Rev Sinclair's father, John.  Amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.