Green Bean

The thermometer read 100 degrees when I stepped out the kitchen door onto the porch. I probably could have chosen a time other than high noon to trudge up to the garden to take a picture of the crape myrtle which has finally bloomed for the first time in the three years since we planted it.

I was distracted from the crape myrtle by the  green beans growing up a teepee like structure. Perhaps it is the heat that causes them to curl in upon themselves. The tomatoes were almost too hot to touch. Tomorrow I may be making sauce with roasted tomatoes courtesy of the sun.  I picked a few of my favorites…an heirloom variety called 'Berkeley Tie Dye'. By the time I put the clippers back in the shed, my brain was also roasting, so I crept back into the house to watch the final stage of the Tour, say au revoir to the boys on bikes and try to figure out how to waste spend our time now….

Surf and turf and watermelon and jicama salad at Dana and Jim's house tonight….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.