Alaska

By Alaska

Growing tomatillos

Tomatillos are one of my favorite foods to cook with, and since we have a greenhouse now, I decided to try growing some. I knew nothing about the plants, except that they grow in warm climates like tomatoes, or their habits, so this was all an experiment. 
I started the seeds back in May, and the little seedling were so flimsy I thought they would probably never survive, but soon many were sturdy and had to be moved to bigger pots.  It wasn't long before they were taking up too much space, so I moved them to several micro climates to see where they would do best. Some stayed in the greenhouse (a couple are now about 7 feet tall) some are on our second floor deck, and I planted some directly into the garden. Two weeks ago we moved 4 more that had grown to about 4 feet tall into the garden.
 Several weeks ago all of them began flowering, now the husks are forming, and the tomatillos will grow inside the husk. The husks look like paper lanterns.
The biggest plants grew in the greenhouse, and some in the garden are only about 18 inches tall. Others that are in better soil are twice that, but all are flowering. I'm sure their success outside is directly due to our exceptionally warm and sunny summer. 
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.