The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

One of those days

Got up early because plumber was coming. Phoned Sky because internet signal was down. They said they'd call back after running some tests. Phoned a care home about a fete on Sat. They said there were no stalls. Plumber phoned to say he'd forgotten to come. Care home rang back to say I could have a stall if I brought my own table and wore red, white and blue!

Mad scramble to get an order in for some patriotic cards for the fete. They can't actually make me sing the National Anthem because my voice cracks glass at 100 yards! And I have a stall at their Christmas sale now. Yay!

Steve was trying to send an important package off. I had to keep coming up with new packaging methods and materials, and coaxing the printer into life. It was actually a relief to go to work t the rehab!

A guy who clearly wasn't impressed with my class asked if, having joined by default, he then had to stay for six weeks! I replied in the negative, and he went for a toilet break and never came back...

I was happy to get home, until I realised I had to do a massage. Neighbour called round as I was hoovering, then a call centre person rang me up about a computer I don't even have! Massage client arrived. Memory loss is becoming an issue, but I saw her safely to her car afterwards. This is the tip of the iceberg that we are seeing in the UK now, with an ageing population and loss of memory. Loneliness makes it worse.

Now I am back at my desk, sorting out the mess I made this morning. I forgot to say that when the satellite guy come back to lay another cable, Steve wants it on the floor, which means moving a giant cabinet as well as clearing out a walk in cupboard! Can't say I am looking forward to that.

Tomorrow I am going to visit an old friend. She is going to have a heart op soon, and doesn't know if she will survive the anaesthetic. If she doesn't have it done, she will only have a few months left to live. Tough times. It puts my whining right into perspective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.