suehutton

By suehutton

White Iris

When Len went away to Amsterdam in May for George's stag weekend, he returned with a bag full of summer bulbs, which he planted indiscriminately in containers around the garden.

Some, such as this exquisite white iris, have just began to flower. In fact, I think most of them are probably iris. I shall look forward to seeing more.

I would have liked to take a macro photo of this bloom but there was just too much of a breeze. Once the air is still, I'll get the macro lens out. The clarity and delicacy of the flowers are outstanding.

Today marked the end of an era. I wrote briefing notes on how I had contributed to the Gothla team and technical details relating to the website, for my successor. We conferred online this afternoon. As I suspected he would, he will be transferring the domain and hosting to his own server space.

Afterwards, I took Basil for a walk along the road, where he sniffed every lamp post and bush possible. 

It's still warm. I hadn't slept well last night and got up at 5.30 to make a cup of tea. The sun was just rising instead of being well up as it had been a month ago. I went back to bed at 7 am and slept until 1045. Blessed rest. Once upon a time not so long ago, I would have forced myself out of bed to enjoy the colours of dawn at Nanpantan Reservoir. Now I value my sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.