Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Toots

My little friend Toots was having terrible problems adjusting to blindness. She was terrified by the sound of rain, wind, vehicles just about everything. On Tuesday morning at 0115 I finally found her in a den she had dug at the base of a Cornish palm in the garden, she had been hammering at the door to be let out. Toots was cowering and shaking, not the courageous little dog I loved. None of the various pheromone sprays, sedative drugs etc had worked.

Our vet understood immediately. I kissed Toots, and held her, then Toots was asleep and untroubled in my arms for the first time in at least a year since she developed her symptoms.

I don't cry over humans, but I must admit that a piece of me is broken, my little girl is no more.

Her ashes will be buried in the garden with "Baby" her favourite toy and her collar.

Please pardon me if I don't reply. A chap and his dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.