Meg was interested...

...in sights, sounds and smells yesterday. She looked brighter than she did the day before.

I saw the oncologist yesterday.

Meg's tumour is rather big. It is a pituitary gland tumour. And radiotherapy may not be suitable for her.

The current plan, then, is to give her a couple of days on medication to try and reduce the brain swelling. If they notice an improvement, they may be able to consider radiotherapy.

The reduction of the swelling reduces potential side effects of the radiotherapy. But as it stands now the radiotherapy would make her too ill for the size of the tumour, so that is not an option at this minute.

Meg will go for a CT scan in a few days to see
a) if the tumour has shrunk
and
b) if it has shrunk, they can assess how best to approach the radiotherapy

In the meantime Meg is doing fine despite the size of the tumour. She is alert and interested in her surroundings.

I have negotiated for the possible radiotherapy costs yesterday, but I did have to send in the photos I took on my last blip of Meg being alert and bright because they thought she was going to be sicker looking than she was. They hadn't expected her to look so well. So those pics gave me a lot of power on the negotiating table.

I am going to see Meg today and the oncologist again.

I am going to catch up on sleep before I go.

Thank you for all your good wishes and lovely comments for Meg. I am grateful, and so is Meg for them all.

Thank you so much _/||\_

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.