This Place

We all did a lot of Blip Soul Searching, quite rightly, when we thought we were in danger of losing this place.  I've been here long enough now to have my own personal path of Blip Evolution but I'm still surprised by how friendships made on here begin, develop, sometimes become real albeit sometimes briefly, sometimes fail and sometimes continue beyond Blip.

I started following itchythumbs not long after she joined Blip in 2011, and I spotted a photo she had taken in Boston which I recognised from visits to our family.  K and I lead very different lives, there is a significant age gap between us and probably we wouldn't have met/moved in similar circles in 'real life', but we enjoyed following each other's journals and eventually began exchanging postcards.

Itchythumbs stopped blipping in 2014 as life became very full for her, but our postcards have continued to cross the pond and, on our return from Switzerland at the weekend, there was this flood of them on the doormat!  K and K are presently touring Europe and the cards trace their exciting journey.  Sadly on the couple of days they arrive here, we will be elsewhere as it would have been the icing on the cake to meet at last.  However, I have decided that we will meet one day!

Meanwhile, I am going to put all these wonderful cards and stories (K writes smashing prose) in order and then take quality time out to read them all and respond on FB where I am still able to see what this intelligent, caring young woman is up to in the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.