At Long Last

Some months back I sorted out one of the kitchen windows, but then I snapped the tendon shortly afterwards.  In the period between these two events I was not particularly well due to a change in medication.  In consequence, it is only now, and with the assistance of my granddaughter who is on holiday from college, that I am able to start making progress on the other two windows.

Today’s picture is of the window in question, shortly before we commenced work on it.  The problem is that the builders moved the window into the outermost wall, leaving the wall between the innermost and outermost walls, without anything to support its brickwork where the previous window had been.  Having been let down by two previous builders and with no one particularly keen to take on the part finished (botched) work of our previous builders it is very much a matter of getting on with it myself, but sickness and then the snapped tendon have somewhat delayed this.  Victoria can clamber about much more readily than I can and can do the relatively light work, with my guidance and assistance, so we are putting up some structural steelwork to support the wall, before putting in corrective material to compensate for the change of size in window (imperial to metric).  I will put up further pictures as this work progresses.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.