Bluedot

This year is the inaugural Bluedot festival. The mix of science and music was irresistible to me and the Minx said yes, of course, so there was just the minor matter of convincing Dan (easy enough) and Abi (bit more tricky) to come along. In the end, though, everyone agreed and this afternoon we set off for Jodrell Bank.

To be honest, I'm not a natural camper, so I'd opted for the boutique field, with a pre erected and sizeable tent, along with a coffee shop, bar, toilets and showers. What I hadn't even hoped for was a spot just opposite the Lovell telescope. My heart was filled.

Having unpacked, we headed over to the main stage to see Public Service Broadcasting, who were opening the event and who played a significant part in convincing Dan and Abi to come along. To be honest, they'd have been better later on in the evening but I get that being the first act at the first Bluedot festival must have been a pretty irresistible offer. 

I think this is the sixth or seventh time I've seen them and they were as entertaining as ever. Their material is all great and although I think they only played eight tracks, they were all corkers, with a nice mix of crowd pleasers and songs they clearly enjoyed playing. The brass section appeared for a couple of numbers and there was a cameo from the dancing spaceman but, for me, the high point was 'The Other Side', a track that rarely fails to bring a tear to my eye. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.